I L I

PIRIS

Appendix F



Appendix F Acknowledgements

The design and development of PIRLS 2001 was achieved through the collaborative efforts of individuals around the world. Staff from the national research centers in each participating country, members of advisory committees, the International Association for the Evaluation for Educational Achievement (IEA), funding agencies, and the International Study Center (ISC) at

[369]

World Bank were instrumental in making PIRLS 2001 possible and for ensuring the quality of the study. Each participating country was responsible for funding national project costs and implementing PIRLS in accordance with the international procedures.

Management and Operations

PIRLS 2001 was conducted under the auspices of the IEA. The study is directed by Ina V.S. Mullis and Michael O. Martin, and managed centrally by the staff of the International Study Center at Boston College, Lynch School of Education. The PIRLS International Study Center worked closely with organizations that were responsible for particular aspects of the study, the PIRLS advisory committees, and representatives of the participating countries.

In the IEA Secretariat, Hans Wagemaker was responsible for overseeing fundraising and country participation. Barbara Malak, also of the IEA Secretariat, was responsible for managing the ambitious translation verification effort and for recruiting international quality control monitors. Statistics Canada worked with countries to ensure that the international sampling procedures were followed, adapted the international design to national conditions, documented the national samples, and computed sampling weights. The National Foundation for Educational Research in England and Wales had major responsibility for developing the reading test, including collecting reading passages, developing items and scoring guides, and conducting scoring training. The IEA Data Processing Center was responsible for processing and verifying the data from the 35 countries, and for constructing the international database.

IEA Secretariat

Alejandro Tiana, IEA Chair Hans Wagemaker, Executive Director Barbara Malak, Manager Membership Relations Juriaan Hartenberg, Financial Manager

PIRLS and TIMSS International Study Center at Boston College

Ina V.S. Mullis, Co-Director Michael O. Martin, Co-Director Eugenio J. Gonzalez, Director of Operations and Data Analysis Ann Kennedy, PIRLS Project Coordinator Cheryl Flaherty, PIRLS Research Associate

Teresa A. Smith, TIMSS Science Coordinator Robert A. Garden, TIMSS Mathematics Coordinator Steven J. Chrostowski, TIMSS Project Coordinator Ebru Erberber, TIMSS Research Associate Monica Guidi, TIMSS Research Assistant Maria José Ramirez, Graduate Assistant Alka Arora, Graduate Assistant

Joseph Galia, Statistician Programmer Isaac Li, Statistician Programmer José R. Nieto, Publications Manager Mario Pita, Data Graphics Specialist Betty Hugh, Data Graphics Specialist Susan Messner, Data Graphics Specialist

Marcie Petras, Manager of Office Administration Christine Hoage, Manager, Finance Rita Holmes, Administrative Coordinator Laura Misas, Administrative Coordinator

IEA Data Processing Center

Pierre Foy, Senior Researcher Ursula Itzlinger, Senior Researcher Juliane Barth, Research Assistant

Statistics Canada Marc Joncas, Senior Methodologist

National Foundation for Educational Research in England and Wales

Chris Whetton, Assistant Director Marian Sainsbury, Principal Research Officer Jenny Bradshaw, Senior Research Officer Anne Kispal, Senior Research Officer Jane Sowerby, Senior Research Officer Jenny Phillips, Research Officer

Educational Testing Services

Jay Campbell, PIRLS Reading Coordinator Ed Kulick, Psychometric Scaling Consultant Matthias von Davier, Psychometric Scaling Consultant

Westat

Keith Rust, Sampling Referee

American Institutes for Research Eugene Johnson, Psychometric Design Consultant

PIRLS Advisory Committees

The PIRLS Reading Development Group (RDG) contributed their invaluable expertise to developing and reviewing the framework and reading test. The RDG also worked with the PIRLS Reading Coordinator, NFER, and ISC staff members to develop the descriptions of achievement at international benchmarks. The PIRLS Questionnaire Development Group (QDG) helped develop the PIRLS questionnaires, including writing items and reviewing drafts of all questionnaires.

PIRLS Reading Development Group

Marilyn Binkley .e, C. . .e. Karl Blueml B.e-ASue Horner , . . , C , A ... 111 Pirjo Linnakylä 111 Martine Rémond in the internet in the second se 111 William Tunmer 11. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1.1.1 Tan See Keen

PIRLS Questionnaire Development Group

Annette Lafontaine B, Michael Marshall

Ivana Prochazkova

Monica Rosén

Graham Ruddock

GI allalli KUUUUCK

Maurice Walker

1 1 1

National Research Coordinators

The PIRLS 2001 National Research Coordinators (NRCs) were responsible for the crucial task of implementing the study in their countries. They participated in every aspect of the work to ensure that the study was of high quality. All the PIRLS 2001 NRCs and their staff members are to be commended for their professionalism and their dedication in conducting all aspects of the project.

Argentina

Lilia Toranzos

· · · · · · · · · ·

Belize

Rosalind Bradley Denise Robateau B. C.

Bulgaria

Georgi Bishkov Felyanka Kaftandjieva

Canada

Francine Jaques Robert Deschênes , , , , & A, , , , , , , , , (A) Louis-Philippe Gaudreault Jean-Louis Lebel Michael Marshall , , , , B C., ,

Colombia

Martha Rocha Claudia Saenz

Cyprus

Mary Koutselini Constantinos Papanastasiou

Czech Republic

Iveta Kramplova Ivana Prochazkova

بەر بەر بەر بەر بەر،

England

Liz Twist

France

Marc Colmant

Germany

Wilfried Bos Knut Schwippert Eva-Maria Lankes

Greece

Georgia Kontogiannopoulou-Polydorides Costas Basbas

Hong Kong, SAR

Tse Shek-Kam

Hungary

Iceland

Einar Gudmundsson

Islamic Republic of Iran

Abdol'azim Karimi

Israel

Elite Olshtain Ruth Zuzovsky

Italy

Gabriella Pavan de Gregorio

Kuwait

Mansour Hussein

Latvia

Ieva Johansone

Lithuania

Aiste Mackeviciute

Republic of Macedonia

Bojana Naceva

Moldova

Ilie Nasu

Morocco

Abdellah Belachkar

The Netherlands

Mieke Van Diepen

New Zealand

Megan Chamberlain Maurice Walker

Norway

Finn Egil Tønnessen Ragnar Gees Solheim

Romania

Gabriela Noveanu

Russian Federation

Galina Kovalyova

Scotland

Liz Levy Brian Semple

Singapore

Siow-Chin Ng

Slovak Republic

Zuzana Lukačková

Slovenia

Marjeta Doupona-Horvat

Sweden

Monica Rosén

Turkey

Yur